Talk about stuff that has nothing to do with Ghostbusters!
Hi gang. I know there's an introduction forum, but I figured I'd expand this into a broader question/topic.

I'll pose my question up front. What keeps you coming back to GB Fans, and what special place or role does it occupy in your life?

Allow me to re-introduce myself. The name's Justin. I was once a big participant in the online community...back when GBProps.com and Proptopia were the go-to venues for talking all things GB. That was back when props/costumes were seemingly the center piece of fandom and before GB had a popular resurgence. Hell, it was before 80s nostoalgia, "nerd culture," and even YouTube were remotely what they are today. I had a Ghostbusters themed Myspace page!

I'm a career US Army officer and was enlisted (serving in Iraq) when I joined the community. For any of the OGs still around, I was one of the folks stuck in the middle of the HotshotDraw/Hotshot...shall we say 'affair.' Later, I offered (maybe "threatened" is a better word) to send Ernie Hudson one of my Hotshot packs, which got the ball rolling on the group building one for him. I'll call that my one [unintentional and indirect] contribution to GB fandom...lolz.

Anyway, I'm back after a decade and a half. I've come to the GB Fans news page almost every day since its inception, but life's kept me from participating in discussions. Usually, I scroll the main page for about 30 seconds and get on with life. However, with all the negativity going around these days (especially on social media), I figured: why not join the forum again? I need a place to go occasionally, discuss frivolous stuff, and have fun. Work limits my time for outside social interaction, and I need an escape. I'm trying to stay off other forms of social media for numerous reasons. However, thinking and talking about things I fondly remember from my childhood has a therapeutic effect, and again...I need to get away from online politics.